MIRROR MIRROR

As  women, body image determines our level of confidence. Positive body image allows us to walk around with our backs straight, our heads held up, and gives us that sway in our hips that oozes confidence. The kind of confidence that has heads turning, and people wondering “Who’s that girl?” Negative body image however has us slouching, hunching our shoulders, walking with our heads down, and trying to make ourselves as obscure as possible. Well ladies it is time to embrace a positive self image.

The Bible says that we are fearfully and wonderfully made.

“I praise you because I am fearfully and wonderfully made;

your works are wonderful, I know that full well. Psalm 139:14 NIV

  It also says in

”So God created man in His own image, in the image and likeness of God He created him; man and woman created He them.”  Genesis 1:27 AMP

It goes further to say in v31 “And God saw everything that He had made, and behold, that it was very good, and He approved it completely.

From the beginning, God has looked upon everything he created, and approved of it, and said that it is good. Having said that though, hands up for all the ladies who know these scriptures by heart, and speak them to any other woman who’s having a bad day, but still wince every time you look in the mirror, that’s if you look in the mirror longer than it takes to make sure that your clothes aren’t on backwards. *both hands raised* Yup, that would be me. I mean in principle I know that I am made in my Father’s image, and therefore I am beautiful, but up until recently; ok two weeks ago; I didn’t ’buy into’ the ‘propaganda’. My mom tells me I’m beautiful: but she’s my mom; and my friends have also told me that I am beautiful; but they are my friends; so to my way of thinking, they have to say that.

Hold on, where was I anyway? …Yes I was saying that I have now started to see me, as God sees me. I am beautiful. I do not check any of the boxes in the world standards of beauty checklist, but I am pretty darn HOTT; even if I do say so myself. So I am walking taller, holding my head up high, and yes I do have that sway in my hips that says I am confident in who I am, because I am confident in who’s I am. If there’s one thing I know for sure, it’s that God don’t make no mistakes. So ladies, I want you to try out this little exercise, stand in front of a full length mirror, naked, and take a leisurely look at yourself; silence the peanut gallery in your head, you know the one that says my hips are too wide, my legs are too thin and all that rubbish. Just look at yourself, and thank God, because he made you in his image, which is perfection, and start loving the body that you’re in.

Ciao bambinas, till next time.

One response to “MIRROR MIRROR

Leave a Reply

