TRYING TO CHANGE GOD’S MIND??

images (4)

How many times have you heard someone quote Isaiah 1:18 “Come let us reason together,” as scriptural back up if you will, for either wanting to be disobedient; knowing God’s will for you, but wanting to do things your own way instead, or as justification for wanting something you probably know is not in God’s plans for you.

“Come let us reason together’, is not about God changing His mind. He already knows the plans He has for us Jeremiah 29:11 “For I know the plans I have for you says the Lord, plans for good and not for disaster, to give you a future and a hope.”NLT, so why is it believers think that we can have a convincing enough argument to make God abandon the perfect plans He has for us, in favor of our mediocre plans; because let’s face it, in comparison to God’s plans for us, our own plans are mediocre at best. Come let us reason together is about a transformation of my mindset, renewing my mind, so that I can submit fully and freely to God’s good and perfect plan for me.

Isaiah 1 from verse 1 talks about a vision had by the prophet Isaiah regarding divine judgment of both Israel and Judah (the northern kingdom and the southern kingdom) during the reigns of Uzziah, Jotham, Ahaz and Hezekiah. Isaiah speaks of how the Israelites have forsaken God, {for their own pride; turning their face from God when they knew very well what they should have been doing, was a pride issue}. They are facing the threat of an Assyrian invasion, but God has a heart for His people, and He wanted them to see the error of their ways, repent, and seek His face. Isaiah 1:18 says, “Come now, and let us reason together saith the LORD, though your sins may be as scarlet, they shall be as white as snow; though they be red like crimson, they shall be as wool.KJV This is a call to the Israelites to come to their senses and recognize that God has their best interests at heart. He is asking them to transform/renew their minds; additionally he assures them that if they want forgiveness, and ask for it, He is ready to forgive them. Further on in this chapter we see that God gives them an assurance of blessings should they come back to Him.

Our heavenly Father will never force us to comply with His will. He wants us to realize that His will and plans for us are good and perfect, better than any plans we can ever have for ourselves, and simply submit to Him, and in so submitting align with His good and perfect plans for our lives.

Come let us reason together is not about changing God’s mind; it is about our minds coming into alignment with God’s plan for our lives. This is not to say that if we choose our way as opposed to God’s way, He will then abandon His plans for us altogether, no ma’am, His plan will remain in place until our will and thoughts are in alignment with His plan for us, and He will then proceed with His plan. Remember Romans 8:28 And we know that all things work together for the good to them that love God, to them who are called according to His purpose. KJV So not only will He make all things work together for your good, even as you’re wandering around, but, He has all the time in the world, He is the author of time, so He can wait on you. All that walking around the mountain for 40 years is bound to tire you out though. Coming into your place of purpose and blessing requires that you have the right mind for it, a mind that is aligned to God’s will.

What about the desires of my heart you ask. God knows the desires of our hearts, and if we delight in Him, He is faithful to grant the desires of our heart Psalm 37:4 Take delight in the Lord and He will grant the desires of your heart. NLT To delight in the Lord means to experience great joy and pleasure in His presence. To be able to delight in the Lord, you have to be submitted to Him; you cannot fully delight in the Lord if you are not submitted to His will. Once you are submitted to His will, your desires become aligned with His desires for you, therefore He grants you the desires of your heart, as they are His desire for you as well. See how simple it all is? 1 John 5:14 And this is the confidence that we have in him, that, if we ask any thing according to his will, he heareth us. KJV

Now, please realize that there are desires of our hearts that we sometimes allow to become idols of the heart. For example, I may desire a car, specifically a Toyota Mark X. I’ve done the research, I’ve test driven one, and that’s it, it’s the only car I want. I ask God to bless me with a car, I even have others praying for me to get a car (I don’t even have to say out loud what car I want Hebrews 4:13: Neither is there any creature that is not manifest in his sight: but all things are naked and opened unto the eyes of him with whom we have to do.KJV) Guess what, I will get the Toyota Mark X, regardless of the fact that God actually wanted to give me a Range Rover Sport, but because the Toyota Mark X became an idol in my heart, He gave it to me; Ezekiel 14:4 (b) I the Lord will answer him that cometh according to the multitude of his idols.KJV. I missed out on my rightful blessing because it’s not about what I pray out loud, but what’s in my heart. Now I don’t know about you, but I would be so mad if I missed out on God’s best for me because of my own pig headedness.

In short, submit to God and allow Him to execute His plans for you, they will always be good and perfect, better than any plan you can ever come up with.

Ciao bambinas.

3 responses to “TRYING TO CHANGE GOD’S MIND??

  1. Brilliant article. I’ve never looked at “Come, let us reason together” like that. And I deeply appreciate the eye-opener of idols in my heart. Good one, girl!!

Leave a Reply

