DAY 16: THE HOLY SPIRIT

Today I am thankful for the Holy Spirit. Even before Christ was crucified, he prepared his disciples for a time when he would leave them. He said to them:

And I will ask the Father, and he will give you another ADVOCATE to help you and be with you forever- John 14:16 NIV, emphasis mine.

Some versions say helper, some say comforter and yet others say counselor. I am thankful that the Holy Spirit has been,is and will continue to be all that and more to me. Even when I was ‘hiding’ from God, I know the Holy Spirit played a vital role in keeping me out of trouble. Like the time I almost stayed in another country because the guy I had gone to visit decided he wanted a live in ‘girlfriend’, and I seriously considered it until the Holy Spirit said ” Girl are you serious? You better get it together.” However, that’s a story for another day.

All the times I walked, eyes wide open into trouble, was because I ignored the Holy Spirit. I know people like to call it intuition, or instinct, or gut feeling, but I know without a doubt that it was the Holy Spirit.

I am thankful for all the trouble he has kept me out of, I am thankful for all the lessons, I am thankful for the guidance and I’m especially thankful for the wise and sage counsel.

Today, I thank God for the Holy Spirit.

#100Daysofgratitude

Leave a Reply

