DAY 58: I KNOW WHO I AM

image

Today, I am thankful that I know who I am, and more importantly, I know whose I am.

I love me some India Arie, that girl can sing. (For the well meaning Christians who feel some type of way about that, you may want to exit right now, because I ain’t here for all that.)

Anyway, one of my favorite songs by India Arie is ‘Get it Together’ off the album ‘Voyage to India’. There’s a line in there “One shot to your heart without breaking your skin, no one has the power to hurt you like your kin.” Isn’t it funny how the people who should be closest to you; the ones you think would be cheering you on; are the very same ones who never let you forget your past. You’ve changed, you’ve grown but they want to constantly remind you of who you used to be, “You know you dropped out of school right?” “You know you got pregnant at 13 right?” “You know you have 2 baby mommas and 4 kids right?” You may be the CEO of a Fortune 500 company but there is always someone in your family who wants to make sure that you don’t forget who you used to be because heaven forbid you get caught up in the new you and forget where you started out. 

I am thankful that I know who I am. I am thankful that I know whose I am. I am thankful of the assurance that there is no condemnation now for them that are in Christ Jesus. I am thankful that in Christ, I have victory over my past. I am thankful that no one, not my parents, not my siblings, nobody can change the reality of victory in my life. I am changed through Christ and in Christ. My Papa has separated me from my sin as far as the east is from the west, and He has made me white as snow in His eyes. I am thankful that I am growing into who God created me to be.

Today, I am thankful that I know who I am,  and whose I am.

#100Daysofgratitude

Leave a Reply

