DAY 64: MY PAST

image

Image credit: notsalmon.com

Today, I am thankful for my past.

I am thankful for the path that brought me to where I am today. I am thankful for the twists and turns, the ups and downs. I am thankful for the wrong turns, dead ends, and the U turns. I am thankful for the moments of absolute clarity, and the moments of “what the hey???” I am thankful for the times of happiness, I am thankful for the times of despair. I am thankful for the times of sheer exhilaration, I am thankful for the times I couldn’t get out of bed. I am thankful for my rebellious phase. I am thankful for the things I got right, I am thankful for the things I got oh so wrong.

I am thankful for the relationships I’ve had, the good ones, and the ones that shredded my heart into itty-bitty pieces. I am thankful for the grace God gave me to endure it all. I am thankful for every bit of my past, the good, the bad and the downright ugly. I am thankful because all things will work together for my good. I am thankful that Papa will use my mess as a message. I am thankful that God will give me beauty for my ashes, He will give me the oil of joy for my mourning, and He will give me a garment of praise for my spirit of heaviness.

Today, I am thankful for my past.

Leave a Reply

