DAY 71: JOURNALING

image

Today, I am thankful for journaling.

Growing up, I was never one of those girls that kept a diary. Firstly because my mother has no sense of personal space and boundaries as far as her kids are concerned; so I knew for a fact that she would find it and read it. Secondly, I am a very private person, and putting my private thoughts and feelings down on paper just went against my grain. However, I thank God for growth because I am now sharing my personal thoughts and feelings online; yaay me!

I am thankful for my spiritual mom who encouraged me to start journaling when I rededicated my life to Christ. She taught me to write down what I understand from reading the Bible, my prayers, words that God places I’m my spirit, and words that He gives others for me, how I’m feeling, and what I’m thinking . I am thankful for the habit of journaling because I’m able to look back on my journals and have a sense of where I’ve been, and where I’m going, especially in times when things seem a bit murky. They also help to refresh my memory of words I have received, and insights I got from reading my Bible.

Journaling has helped me to be more open about not only what I’ve been through/am going through, it has taught me how to let go and let God. I’ve found that once I have it written down, I’m less likely to keep revisiting it in my mind trying to figure out how best to deal with any issues or questions I might have.

Each one of my journals is time stamped, so I’ve been able to keep track of my relationship with God, and how I’ve grown over the years as a result of it.

Today, I am thankful for the habit of journaling.

#100Daysofgratitude

Leave a Reply

