ADJIKA : АДЖИКА 

Adjika or Аджика is a condiment of Abkhaz origin. I discovered and fell in love with it when I was studying in Russia. I used to buy it from Abkhaz women at the market in the town I was living in,  and I would use it on everything.  

When I came back home though, I couldn’t find it or anything similar, so I decided to start making my own. I realized while still in Russia that adjika tasted different depending on who made it. The differences are subtle because the base notes are exactly the same; garlic, salt and red peppers/chillies.

So here’s how I make my version of adjika.

INGREDIENTS 

500gms of red chillies 

2 heads of garlic 

1 1/2 bulbs of fresh ginger 

2Tbsps salt 

2 1/2 Tbsps white vinegar 

METHOD 

1.Prepare and dice your ingredients i.e. wash and dice chillies, peel garlic and ginger, chop up ginger.

Chopped chillies

Ginger

Garlic

3. Ready to enjoy as a dip, a condiment, or even as a base for spicy sauces. My favorite way to use adjika is to stir fry potatoes. 

Please let me know if you try this recipe, and some of your favorite ways of using adjika.
NOTES :

  • Use gloves when chopping chillies to avoid the burn from capsaicin;the active ingredient in peppers and chillies. 
  • For this batch of adjika I decided to try something different and added half of a green pepper, and a tomato, and I love the flavours. As I said, the base notes remain the same but every adjika recipe is different. 
  • Adjika can keep in the fridge for up to a year because salt and vinegar are natural preservatives.
Leave a Reply

