NOT MY CIRCUS, NOT MY MONKEYS.

​It is not my job to take on your burdens. 

I can and will be empathetic, but I do not have to take on your pain, your responsibilities, your anger, or your sadness. I do not have to make it my own. 

It is not my responsibility to fix it, to make it better, to sort it out or to figure it out. 

My responsibility is to pray with you, to pray for you, and walk with you, but it is not my circus, those are not my monkeys.

My responsibility is to be the best version of myself. To allow God to shine His light through me. 

My responsibility is to be who God created me to be, to fulfill the purpose for which He created me. 

It is not my job to try and fit into the moulds you have created for me in your mind. 

It is not my responsibility to say what you want me to say or be who you want me to be. 

It is not my responsibility to fulfill the fantasies you have created in your mind of who I am.  

It is not my responsibility to try to fit in so that you can accept me. 

Nah. That is not my responsibility.

Me, I will be who God created me to be, and I will love who I am unashamedly.

Me, I will embrace my flaws, I know they make me who I am.

Me, I will work on being the best version of me, one day at a time, one step at a time.

Me, I am learning to love me for me.

Me, I am no longer falling victim to your guilt trips.

Me, I am learning to say No! 

Me, I am shedding all the baggage of unrealistic expectations, and fantasies created in your minds of who I am. 

Me, I am a daughter of The King, I am royalty and from now henceforth, I will carry myself as such. 

             ©Angela Wambua 2016

Leave a Reply

