AT THE MOVIES

Learning is continuous, and as believers, we need to be open to learning at all times. I believe that God uses His word, as well as people, things and situations to teach me what He would have me learn. I try to open my heart in every situation so that I don’t miss the lesson. 

I love watching movies. I’ve always loved watching movies, but more so now because I get to do movie dates with my Papa, and He speaks to me through the movies. He teaches me a lot as we watch movies together, even those movies I wasn’t expecting to learn anything from. I figured I would share with you all some of the things I learn from my weekly movie dates with Papa, and ask you guys to share what you’ve learned from the movies, if you’ve watched them.

Please let me know if there are any movies you think I should watch, also let me know what you may have learned about this walk from the movies you have watched.

 

THE DEBT (2010)

Image courtesy of http://www.IMDB.com

The Debt is the American remake of 2007 Israeli movie Ha-Hov, which is an alternate history drama thriller. The movie is directed by John Madden: Shakespeare in Love, Captain Corelli’s Mandolin, The Best Exotic Marigold Hotel, and stars Helen Mirren, Jessica Chastain,  Ciarán Hinds, Sam Worthington, Tom Wilkinson, Marton Csokas and Jesper Christensen. 

The movie revolves around a 1965 mission carried out in Berlin by three Mossad agents: Rachael Singer, David Peretz and Stephan Gold; Chastain, Worthington and Csokas respectively. Their mission is to apprehend Nazi war criminal Dieter Vowel aka Dr.  Bernhardt aka the Surgeon of Birkenau; Christensen, in East Berlin and bring him to Israel to face justice. The choices they make while on the mission have further reaching consequences than any of them imagined.

LESSONS FROM THE MOVIE 

While the three agents are holding Vogel in their apartment after the snafu at the train station, he has plans to try and get away by any means necessary. Since he is tied up, his best course of action is to try and get in their heads, which he does with some level of success.

This is what the enemy does,  he does seeds of doubt, frustration and discontent, trying to get me to lose focus of what God would have me do or learn. Doubt the word that Papa has given me, get me to take my eyes off my purpose, and lose sight of my identity. Which is why the Bible tells us to bring into captivity every thought, because the battle begins in the mind, so does victory.

2Corinthians 10:5 Casting down imaginations, and every high thing that exalteth itself against the knowledge of God, and bringing into captivity every thought to the obedience of Christ;

KJV (emphasis mine)

The choices we make have consequences. God does and will forgive us for making the wrong choices, but the consequences of those choices must be faced. 

All three made a choice to lie about what happened on the mission, a lie they would have to live with for the rest of their lives. A lie that came back to haunt them years later, pushing David to commit suicide and leaving Rachael to clean up the mess they had made by herself. 

David made a choice not to leave East Berlin without Rachael, which means they didn’t leave East Berlin as scheduled, which led to the unraveling of the rest of the mission. This is where I learned the most important lesson from this movie. 

Not everyone is coming with me to the next level, and trying to bring everyone along may make me miss out on the next step and set me back. I need to realise that not everyone is coming along with me on my journey. Some people, places and things will have to be left behind and I need to be okay with that. It doesn’t mean I love them any less, it just means that this is where our ride along ends. 

If you’ve watched the movie, please share with me some, if any, lessons you may learned. 

If you haven’t watched it and would like to, the movie is available on Netflix.

Have a blessed week people.

Much love.

Leave a Reply

